Animals as Elements (art post)

I’m very much a renaissance woman. I’m ok at a huge swag of skills but not overly outstanding at any particular one. This is as much of a double edged sword as it sounds. It often means I’m trying new things, getting into them and then finding my talent for them is very limited. Other times I find my talent just slowly growing and maybe one day I will be considered good.

I’m ok at writing poetry, I have a steady fellowship of readers here on this blog. I’m ok at writing stories too. I’ve written thirty chapters of my story hammersmith now am planning adding a fantasy horror-comedy to the mix (yeah it’s just sort of come awake in my mind whilst I’ve recovered from appendicitis).

My other pursuits are art, signing and feminism. All of which I’m also slowly getting better at.

In the art arena, I actually have a project I’m working on that kind of proves it. It’s called animals as elements. I share the images of it on my Instagram and Tumblr. I thought it was high time I added a blog post about the project.


Each element of the periodic table has a different animal. The animals are in general selected from the country of the person who discovered it or are ones that are associated with it. The main and pretty much only pattern is that all Nobel gasses are birds of some sort.

As I have progressed  in the series over the last two years I have noticed my art improve immeasurably to the point now we’re I am much more confident of drawing. Meaning I have stared on another project which is still to early to share yet (In my view).

I’m also continuing my abstract art which I may post about some day soon. It’s harder to explain and each peice is unquie.

I’m also signing. My and other songs. It’s on YouTube but I’m not quite sure it’s something I’m open to posting widely yet.

The animals as elements series still has 44 animals to go, which two animals on each peice that’s 22 pages left. After that I will do scans and upload the images … somewhere.

The individual pieces are not for sale, but I can do a commission in this style of anyone is interested.

Leave a Reply

