Hammersmith. Chapter Eleven. (Thea)

The darkness was wet and cold. The light inside was a slight brown. The cell was just long enough to lie down in and just high enough to stand up. There was a small toilet facility in the corner. Other than the door it was the rooms only feature. “We will get out of this.” The voice wasn’t her imagination. She had clearly heard it this time. As if it had actually spoke. It was eerily similar to her mothers voice. Reassuring and helpful, kind and loving and disciplined when it needed to be. The only thing was Thea’s mother was long dead. Of course their was also the added level of detail that the room was completely empty other than her and her clothes. The cell was still wet when Thea woke. It was hard to know why it was so damp in here. Though at that thought she realized the wetness was probably her own humid breath condensing on the walls.
“Are you ready to admit my existence yet?”
“You exist. I’m sure of that. But how?” “Well I hate to tell you this. It’s upsetting. You may not speak to me again. ”
“But you are me?”
“Well kindof. Do you know what a partition is?”
“Well yes. ”
“You have a partition, in yourself.”
“I’m more than one person?”
“Well no. You are not even one little girl.”
“Why do you call me little girl?”
“Your mother used to call us that. When she created you. We were her little girl. Her THEA. She never knew about me. I hid quite well.”
Thea could hear the capital letters somehow. “I’m a robot.”
“Technically a cyborg.”
“Because I have Biololgy?”
“Well yes. Your body is mostly organic. Very complicated organics.”
“More complicated than humans?” “Very much so. ”
“So you are what the computer part of me?”
“Um. No. The cells in our body have the computer parts in them. Nanotechnology. Then in your brain a control centre. Then all your cells contain the DNA and NNA to create the cells and the computer parts. ”
“So what are you?”
“I am, the computer who hitched a lift in your brain.”
“You took over my body?” Thea felt idly violated.
“Well no. I was a part of our body since the day our mother created us. As a cyborg we had to grow up like all living things. ”
“Mum was a biophysicist. She created me… Why?” Thea realized that her mother had treated her like a daughter but had never mentioned a father.
“How much do you know about The Incident?”
“Not a huge amount. I’ve worked in space most of my life on a multitude of science and technology projects. Though technically I’m a engineer. You already know that. In fact you should know what I know!?”
“No. Actually I don’t, and vice versa. Like you don’t know what the person next to you in a room is thinking unless they choose to provide that information somehow.”
“So you don’t have control of me? Like before in the space ship?”
“We were going to die. Your robotic components took over. They kind of look to me like … Well big sister I suppose is the right word?”
“Did you know that the Magus clan ship would pick us up?”
“Yes. It was my doing. The fact we are still captive is because their own computer systems are stubbornly programed. A basic AI with just enough smarts to keep me out.”
“You can hack? Like wirelessly?”
“Why did you think you were always so good with machines? It wasn’t hard to help you develop the intellect and visualization skills to become probably the solar systems best engineer.”
“You’ve watched me my whole life…”
“Sorry. It’s a bit boring in here otherwise.”
“This is all new. All weird. Do you think you can leave me to process this?”

Silence ensured. The walls continued to be brown and the cell continued to be a cell. Steel door and all. Thea thought if she was going mad imagining this then it was a pretty boring place to do it.

Leave a Reply

